Site Map

Please note:

You are viewing archival ICANN material. Links and information may be outdated or incorrect. Visit ICANN's main website for current information.

Election Committee

New Postings from the Election Committee

The Election Committee has posted two new Recommendations on Election Procedures concerning ballot access for Member Nominated candidates. Public comment is invited.

The Election Committee has posted Draft Recommendations on Election Procedures. The deadline for public comment is July 8, 2000.

The Election Committee has posted a Call for Proposals for an Online Voting System. The deadline for proposals is July 5, 2000.

Mission and Process

The Election Committee has been chartered by ICANN to fulfill an important role in the planning and execution of ICANN's At Large Membership elections for the year 2000. The charter reads as follows:

"There shall be an At-Large Election Committee responsible for recommending to the Board for its approval procedures regarding the At Large elections, including campaigning, voting, measures to prevent fraud, etc. The committee will also be responsible for oversight and monitoring of those processes. The committee shall operate to the extent practical in an open and transparent manner, giving due regard to protecting the confidentiality of private information of ICANN At-Large members, proprietary information of election companies, and other matters (such as certain information regarding anti-fraud measures) that should be kept confidential to promote the committee's mission."

The Election Committee will thus be giving advice to the ICANN Board about the procedures, rules, and operations of the At Large elections, including monitoring and oversight. In particular, the Election Committee will be focusing on the following deliverables:

  • A technical and functional specification for the online election/voting system.
  • A public call for proposals from potential vendors of the election/voting system.
  • An evaluation of proposals, with a recommendation to the Board as to the best proposal, necessary budget, and timetable for implementation.
  • Advice with regard to (a) the petition process; (b) the campaign process, including rules for candidates; (c) independent election monitoring and oversight; (d) fraud detection and prevention; (e) ballot security; (f) data privacy.

The Committee plans to post on this page a series of drafts and recommendations for public review and comment. The Committee plans to complete its work in time for the ICANN's Board's meetings in Yokohama (15-16 July, 2000). Input to the committee should be sent care of

Members of the Election Committee

Greg Crew - Chair

Greg Crew is currently Chairman of the Australian Communications Industry Forum Ltd., Chairman of the Australian Information Technology Engineering Centre Ltd., and a non-executive director of ERG Ltd. (Perth) and of Silicon Wireless Ltd. (California). He was Chief Executive Officer of Mercury Communications Ltd. (UK) (1993-95) and Chief Operating Officer of Hongkong Telecommunications Ltd. (1991-93). He was one of the nine initial Directors of ICANN. He lives in Australia.

Charles Costello

Charles Costello became director of the Carter Center's Democracy Program in December 1998. Previously, he was director of the Center for Democracy and Governance at the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) since shortly after its creation in 1994. From 1993-94, he headed the USAID mission in post-conflict El Salvador, overseeing programs to help demobilize forces, support reformed political institutions, and rebuild civil society. At USAID since 1975, he also had headed USAID missions in Ecuador and Guatemala and served in Kenya and Bolivia. A former Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala and staff member in Colombia, he earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan and a J.D. from the University of California at Berkeley. He lives in the United States.

Lorrie Faith Cranor

Dr. Lorrie Faith Cranor is a Senior Technical Staff Member in the Secure Systems Research Department at AT&T Labs-Research Shannon Laboratory in Florham Park, New Jersey. She is chair of the Platform for Privacy Preferences Project (P3P) Specification Working Group and co-chair of the P3P Interest Group at the World Wide Web Consortium. Her research has focused on a variety of areas where technology and policy issues interact, including online privacy, electronic voting, and spam. Dr. Cranor received her doctorate degree in Engineering & Policy from Washington University in St. Louis in 1996. She lives in the United States.

Patrik Fältström

Patrik Fältström works at Tele2/Swipnet. He works on technologies involving everything from directory services, indexing technologies, electronic mail and DNS, especially internationalization issues. He is one of two area directors of the Applications Area of the Internet Engineering Task Force, and is a member of the Internet Engineering Steering Group. He has been involved in Internet standardization since 1989. Since 1994 he has been helping the Swedish Tax Authorities to deliver live election results over the Internet to newspapers and radio and tv stations. He lives in Sweden.

Ken Fockler

Ken Fockler is the President of Tenac Consulting, a company he founded in 1997 after the wrap up of CA*net Networking Inc., where he was President from 1992 to 1997. He is a Director of ICANN, chosen by the Address Supporting Organization. He lives in Canada.

Hans Kraaijenbrink

Hans Kraaijenbrink is a member of the Executive Board of ETNO, the European Telecommunications Network Operators association, located in Brussels. He is also Manager, European Policy and Regulation with Royal KPN N.V., the Netherlands where he is responsible for European and international regulatory strategic affairs. He was one of the nine initial Directors of ICANN. He lives in the Netherlands.

Nguyen Huu Dong

Nguyen Huu Dong is Senior Political Affairs Officer at the Department for Political Affairs of the United Nations. Since 1998, he has been General Coordinator for a UNDP project on assistance to electoral observers in Mexico. Beginning in 1989, he has been involved in UN electoral missions in Nicaragua, Haiti, El Salvador, Eritrea, South Africa, Nigeria, and East Timor. He has been a member of UN need assessment missions for electoral missions to El Salvador, Eritrea, Mozambique, South Africa, Guyana, Nicaragua, Liberia, Yemen, Burkina Faso, Mali, Haiti, the Central African Republic, Western Sahara, Mexico, Guinea, Nigeria, and Zimbabwe. He has been a member of UN electoral follow-up and report missions to Djibouti and the Seychelles. He has been coordinator of international electoral observation in Ethiopia (1992) and Nigeria (1999). He holds degrees from the Université de Lausanne (B.A.), the Université de Paris-Sorbonne (M.A.), and the Université de Paris-V/Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (Ph.D.). He lives in Mexico City and New York.

© Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Cookies Policy