Site Map

Please note:

You are viewing archival ICANN material. Links and information may be outdated or incorrect. Visit ICANN's main website for current information.

GNSO Public Forum
Wednesday, 28 March 2007, 8:30 - 10:30
ICANN Meeting, Corinthia Lisboa Hotel, Lisbon, Portugal

What it is: The Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) helps to promote the development of Internet policy for generic top-level domains (gTLDs) (such as .com, .org, etc.) and encourages diverse and international participation in the technical management of the Internet. This public forum gives all interested individuals an opportunity to share their views on any issue pending before the GNSO. The GNSO will report on its policy work in progress, and open the microphone for your comments.

Why it's important: This is your opportunity to tell the decision-makers on the GNSO Council, and the ICANN community in general, what you think about key issues such as the GNSO improvement process, the contractual conditions policy development process and Internationalized Domain Names.

Who should attend: Anyone with an interest in gTLD issues specifically, and the domain name system in general, including registrars, gTLD registries, businesses, Internet service providers, Internet users, and government representatives.


Agenda

Proposed GNSO Public Forum Agenda Wednesday 28 March 2007

Coordinated Universal Time UTC 8:30 - see below for local times
(01:30 am Los Angeles, 04:30 Washington DC, 08:30 London, 19:30 Melbourne, 20:30 Wellington)

8:30am to 8:45am - Questions for ICANN Board candidate

  • session chair - Philip Sheppard
  • candidate - Bruce Tonkin

8:45am to 9:30am - WHOIS task force - Jordyn Buchanan

  • summary of majority recommendations
  • summary of concerns from constituencies that don't support the majority recommendations
  • summary of any GAC guidelines or discussions related to WHOIS
  • open mike

9:30am to 9:45am - PDP-Feb06 PDP on Contractual conditions relating to existing gTLDs - Avri Doria

  • summary of majority recommendations
  • summary of concerns from constituencies that don't support the majority recommendations
  • open mike

9:45am to 10:00am - GNSO-RN-WG: Report from GNSO working group on Reserved Names - Chuck Gomes

  • summary of report
  • open mike

10:00am to 10:15am - GNSO-IDN-WG: Report from GNSO working group on IDNs - Ram Mohan

  • summary of progress
  • open mike

10:15am to 10:30am - GNSO-PRO-WG: Report from GNSO working group on Preserving the Rights of Others (PRO) - Kristina Rosette

  • summary of progress
  • open mike

© Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers