Site Map

Please note:

You are viewing archival ICANN material. Links and information may be outdated or incorrect. Visit ICANN's main website for current information.

Registrar Accreditation: Overview

This page was archived as of June 2010. Current information can be found here.

The Shared Registration System ("SRS") is a domain name registration system for competitive registrars in the .com, .net, and .org top-level domains. The SRS was created in the spring of 1999 through the initiative of the United States Department of Commerce under an amendment to its cooperative agreement with Network Solutions, Inc. Under this domain name registration system, competing ICANN-accredited registrars register domain names utilizing one shared, central registry operated and maintained by NSI.

Although there is no limit on the number of registrars that may register names using the SRS, stability of the Internet and continuity for consumers is protected by the requirement that every business desiring to become a registrar in the .com, .net, and .org top-level domains must first become accredited for this purpose by ICANN.

If you are interested in becoming an ICANN-accredited registrar for the .com, .net, and .org top-level domains, please visit How to Become an ICANN-Accredited Registrar for detailed information on the process, documents, qualifications, and financial considerations involved.

© Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Cookies Policy