LACRALO OPERATING PRINCIPLES BUENOS AIRES CONSENSUS

- 1. The Latin America & Caribbean Regional At Large Organization is formed by those At Large Structures (ALSs) accredited by the At Large Advisory Committee (ALAC) as a mechanism to promote and assure the LAC user participation in the ICANN policy development process.
- 2. The LacRALO will function as long as the Memorandum of Understanding between ICANN and the organizations members remain valid.
- 3. Every user and group of user with noncommercial interests is welcome, and their participation will be promoted. Those users who wish to participate in individual basis, won't be able to vote or be elected to positions within the LACRALO.
- 4. The LacRALO will be multilingual since its inception. From this document, every document and discussion will be held in english and spanish. In the short term Portuguese will be added, and there will be a periodic review of the languages used in the region.
- 5. The government of the LacRALO will be exercised by a General Assembly, formed by 2 representatives of each member ALS.
- 6. The General Assembly will be able too et up ad-hoc Task Forces to deal with specific issues.
- 7. The General Assembly will be supported by a Secretariat. The role of the Secretariat could be exercised by a person or an organization, as long as they fulfill the language requirements.

- 8. The Secretariat will have administrative and informative functions. It will be responsible of maintain working the communications system and for assuring the information flux about the issues under discussion between the LACRALO participants.
- 9. The LACRALO will chose two (2) persons to serve as members of the At Large Advisory Committee (ALAC), in the terms that are specified in the ICANN By Laws. Only those ALSs who has been certified will be able to vote on this election. The candidates will be members of any ALS and must live in the region. Selected members will have the responsabilities described in the ICANN Bylaws and the RALO documents.
- 10. These members will serve two (2) years at most, and may not serve more than two consecutive terms. The winners of the first election will serve one (1) and two (2) years respectively, to assure a yearly election..