ABU DHABI – ICANN Community Recognition Program Thursday, November 2, 2017 – 15:15 to 15:45 GST ICANN60 | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

BRAD WHITE: Ladies and gentlemen, please take your seats.

The Community Recognition Program will begin very shortly.

Thank you.

Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome David Olive, Senior Vice

President for Policy Development Support.

[Applause]

DAVID OLIVE: Thank you, everyone. And good afternoon. Community-driven

work is the core of ICANN's mission.

Countless hours are spent in working groups across our

supporting organizations, advisory committees, and other

groups including the Nominating Committee.

Together our community develops and refines policies and

advice that ensure the security, stability, and resiliency of the

Internet.

Note: The following is the output resulting from transcribing an audio file into a word/text document. Although the transcription is largely accurate, in some cases may be incomplete or inaccurate due to inaudible passages and grammatical corrections. It is posted as an aid to the original audio file, but should not be treated as an authoritative record.

The ICANN organization is proud to help facilitate this work. As ICANN60 comes to an end, it is important to acknowledge the vibrant role and critical impact of our community.

Please join me in welcoming ICANN Board Director Chair Stephen Crocker and ICANN President and CEO Goran Marby to join me on stage with our colleagues Carlos Reyes and Ozan Sahin to proceed over the program of recognizing our leaders this afternoon. Thank you.

[Applause]

UNKNOWN SPEAKER:

Thank you, David. Today we recognize 49 community leaders, though not everyone could join us for this program. We will recognize community leaders in alphabetical order beginning with the Nominating Committee and then the supporting organizations followed by the advisory committees.

Community leaders, please approach the stage as we announce your names. And to our audience we ask that you please hold your applause until the end so that every name can be heard. We begin with the 2017 Nominating Committee: Damon Ashcraft, Tom Barrett, Eduardo Diaz, Hartmut Glaser, Hans Petter Holen, Zahid Jamil, Dave Kissoondoyal, Osvaldo Novoa,



Amir Qayyum, Jorg Schweiger, Ken Stubbs, Stephane van Gelder, Tim Wicinski.

From the Address Supporting Organization:Mark Elkins, represented by Neil Dundas, and Ajay Kumar.

From the Country Code Name Supporting Organization, Ching Chiao.

UNKNOWN SPEAKER:

From the Generic Name Supporting Organization: Farzaneh Badii, James Bladel, Rafik Dammak Johan Helsingius, Tony Holmes, Wolf-Ulrich Knoben, Marilia Maciel, Steve Metalitz, Stefania Milan, Klaus Stoll, Valerie Tan, Tapani Tarvainen, Martin Silva Valent, Fabricio Vayra, and Chris Wilson.

UNKNOWN SPEAKER:

Moving on to the At-large Community: Harold Arcos, Garth Bruen, Mohamed El-Bashir, Judith Hellerstein, Aziz Hilali, Tijani Ben Jamaa, Wolf Ludwig, Glenn McKnight, Leon Sanchez, and Wafa Dahmani Zaafouri.

From the Governmental Advisory Committee, Mark Carvell, Alice Munyua, and Thomas Schneider.

From the Root Server Advisory Committee: Hank Kilmer and Warren Kumari.



And from the Security And Stability Advisory Committee: Mark Kosters and Steve Crocker. We are very grateful for the collective and individual effort, skills, and time of our community leaders. In that spirit, the ICANN Board of Directors formally recognizes the community leaders with the resolution during the Annual General Meeting.

Community recognition is a year-long effort at ICANN. From the Community-driven Multistakeholder Ethos Award presented at ICANN 59 to the Leadership Award presented during the opening ceremony at ICANN60, the growth and evolution of ICANN as a multistakeholder organization and leads to stability, reliability, security, and global interoperability of the Internet depend on the sustained recognition of our community. Thank you for joining us.

[Applause]

[END OF TRANSCRIPTION]

