15 October 2014

Minutes of the GNSO Council Public Meeting in Los Angeles 15 October 2014, Part 2 Administrative

Agenda and Documents

The meeting started at 22:20 UTC. 15:20 PDT
Meeting Times 22:15 UTC

List of attendees: NCA – Non Voting – Carlos Raúl Gutierrez

Contracted Parties House
Registrar Stakeholder Group: James Bladel, Volker Greimann, Yoav Keren

gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Jonathan Robinson, Donna Austin, Bret Fausett

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Thomas Rickert

Non-Contracted Parties House
Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG); Gabriela Szlak, Susan Kawaguchi, Osvaldo Novoa, Tony Holmes, Brian Winterfeldt, Heather Forrest

Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG): Amr Elsadr remote participation, proxy to David Cake, Marilia Maciel, Edward Morris, Stephanie Perrin, David Cake, Avri Doria

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Daniel Reed – absent, proxy to Thomas Rickert

GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers:
Cheryl Langdon Or – ALAC Liaison
Patrick Myles – ccNSO Observer
Mason Cole – GNSO liaison to the GAC


David Olive – VP Policy Development
Marika Konings – Senior Policy Director
Rob Hoggarth – Senior Policy Director
Mary Wong – Senior Policy Director
Julie Hedlund – Policy Director
Berry Cobb – Policy consultant
Lars Hoffmann – Policy Analyst
Glen de Saint Géry – GNSO Secretariat
Cory Schruth – Systems Engineer

Audio streaming

Item 1: Seating of the 2014 / 2015 Council

1.1 Roll Call

1.2 Statements of interest were received from the new Councillors

  • Carlos Raul Guterriez – SOI Nominating Committee Appointee
  • Donna Austin – SOI Registries Stakeholder Group
  • Edward Morris – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group
  • Heather Forrest – SOI Intellectual Property Constituency
  • Marilia Ferreira Maciel – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group
  • Stephanie Perrin – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group
  • Susan Kawaguchi – SOI Commercial and Business Users Constituency

1.3 Review/amend agenda

Item 2: Election of the Chair

One nomination was received for this position, Jonathan Robinson. The GNSO Council held a question & answer session over the weekend with Jonathan Robinson. The Council proceeded to elect the chair according to the GNSO Operating Procedures.
GNSO Operating Procedures
http://gnso.icann.org/en/council/gnso-operating-procedures-13sep12-en.pdf [PDF, 489 KB]

Note: Section 2.2 Officer Elections: Chair and Vice-Chairs (see Appendix 1 below)

The vote was by secret ballot which had two options:

[] Jonathan Robinson
[] None of the Above.

Rob Hoggarth, Senior Policy Director tallied the votes.

The results were unanimous in favour of Jonathan Robinson.

Jonathan Robinson is elected chair of the GNSO Council for a term of one year, October 2014 to the end of the Annual General Meeting in 2015.

2.2 Officer Elections: Chair and Vice-Chairs

Each house is responsible for electing a vice chair.
Volker Greimann was elected Council vice chair from the Contracted Parties House.

David Cake was elected Council vice chair from the Non-Contracted Parties House.

Item 3: Any Other Business

Councillors were reminded of the Council development meeting taking place at 12025 Waterfront Drive, 2nd Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90094-2536 on Friday 17 October 2014, 10h00 followed by a cooking course in Santa Monica where everyone will enjoy the results of their endeavours, a Californian dinner.

Item 4: Any Other Business

In the absence of any other business Jonathan Robinson adjourned the GNSO Council Public Administrative meeting of the new Council and thanked everyone for their participation.

The meeting was adjourned at 22:50 UTC.

The next GNSO Council meeting will take place on Thursday, 13 November 2014 at 11:00 UTC.

See: Calendar

Material Subtype: 

This material is associated with the following sessions:

Title Date Language
GNSO Public Council Meeting Part II: Administrative 15 Oct 2014 - 15:15 to 16:15 PDT English